Ethics and Dreamweaver

“The mind that is not baffled is not employed.

The impeded stream is the one that sings.”

The above quote from Wendell Berry sums up a lot of my week, I am presently baffled and singing! We started HTML and Dreamweaver this week, in our EL6072 module. It is all new to me, thank goodness we don’t have to learn HTML as “Dreamweaver” will put in this mark-up language for us; we are required to know a little about it all the same. The lab sheets are good and usually self-explanatory, as with all new software the simplest procedures can be quite baffling, and then when I am shown how to do them they seem obvious, the difficulty is to keep them in my head long enough to be able to repeat the procedure and hopefully retain it long term.

Spring is a busy time on a farm, and the work for this course is beginning to mount up, I will have to manage my time well, otherwise I will run into difficulties.

The study of ethics is essential in fields undergoing rapid change according to one of the slides in our TW5212 module. It will provide a framework in which to resolve dilemmas; we all come up against ethical dilemmas from time to time. I believe there is no easy or set answer to many dilemmas; ethical dilemmas arise when there are conflicts between responsibilities. Because most ethical dilemmas are complex, it is useful to look at the problem from many perspectives and to avoid simplistic solutions. If there are no “right” or “wrong” answers we are often challenged to deal with ambiguity, and ambiguity is something that most people have difficulty dealing with it.

“Tell me what I should do!”

Leave a comment